Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (10 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
  • 0 Incorrect (10 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
Restart
 
 
 
 
 
Ask DMV Genie AI
new
Back to Program Home

Free Kansas CDL General Knowledge Test (KS)

  • Perfect for first-time and renewal CDL/CLP applicants, and those adding endorsements
  • Based on 2024 KS commercial driver's license manual
  • Updated for July 2024
Verified by Steven Litvintchouk, M.S., Chief Educational Researcher, Member of ACES. See our detailed commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.
Commercial Driver's License

About this test

Available in EN and ES

This is your opportunity to practice questions based on those you will find the real CDL written exam and information from the Kansas Commercial Driver License Manual. As you answer these 50 multiple-choice questions, you’ll review what you’ve learned about safe commercial driving practices, ranging from the safe speed for a steep downgrade to drunk driving laws. Read the explanations that come with each question for a closer look at the concepts that you’ll need to understand to pass your written exam the very first time. Good luck with your practice test, and drive safely!

[faq]

Kansas CDL License FAQs in 2024

How do you obtain a CDL?

To obtain a CDL in Kansas, start by getting a commercial learner’s permit (CLP) after passing the required knowledge tests. Hold the CLP for at least 14 days before taking the skills test. While CDL training is not mandatory, it is highly recommended for better preparation. Then, pass the skills test to get your CDL.

How much do CDL classes cost?

The cost of CDL classes in Kansas varies depending on the training provider and program. Typically, the cost can range from a few hundred to several thousand dollars. Contact specific training schools for exact pricing.

How long does CDL training last?

CDL training duration in Kansas varies by program. Full-time training can last from a few weeks to several months, depending on the school and the specific program.

How much does a CDL permit cost?

A CDL permit in Kansas costs approximately $13. This fee is for the permit itself and does not include the cost of knowledge tests or additional endorsements.

How long is the CDL permit valid?

A CDL permit in Kansas is valid for six months. You can renew the permit once for an additional six months if needed.

What vehicles require a CDL?

In Kansas, a CDL is required to operate vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, vehicles designed to transport 16 or more passengers including the driver, or any size vehicle used to transport hazardous materials requiring placarding.

[/faq]

Enhance your preparation with our comprehensive General Knowledge test collection, tailored to cover all key topics of the CDL exam. For a complete understanding of the expenses involved, check out our guide on CDL license cost, and for a step-by-step guide to getting your CDL, visit our CDL license guide.

What to expect on the actual KS CDL exam

50

questions

40

correct answers to pass

80

passing score

Your trusted source for driver education

Experience the Driving-Tests difference
Since our foundation in 2010, Driving-Tests.org has led the way in online driver's education, with over a decade of experience. Our dedicated experts, bringing together more than 50 years of collective expertise, have established us as the largest non-governmental organization in the U.S. solely focused on driver education. We go beyond the official manuals, offering unique interactive experiences and support like audio guides and an AI Assistant, to cater to different learning styles and needs.
Helping hundreds of thousands to ace their tests, our resources have earned a 4.7-star rating from over 14,500 reviews. Our goal is to make your path to becoming a confident driver as straightforward and effective as possible.